30 Awards presented as part of Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards-2021

Jan 09: The Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award (PBSA) is the highest honour conferred on overseas Indians. PBSA is conferred by the Hon’ble President of India as part of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Convention on Non-Resident Indians, Persons of Indian Origin or an organization/institution established and run by the Non-Resident Indians or Persons of Indian Origin in recognition of their outstanding achievements both in India and abroad.

The 16th edition of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (PBD) Convention was held virtually on 9th January 2021. The Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards were conferred by the Hon’ble President at the PBD Convention in the valedictory session of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas celebrations.

A Jury-cum-Awards Committee, with Hon’ble Vice-President as the Chairman and Hon’ble External Affairs Minister as the Vice-Chair and other distinguished members from various walks of life considered the nominations for the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards, 2021 and unanimously selected the awardees. The awardees represent the vibrant excellence achieved by our diaspora in various fields. Several countries have been represented for the first time among the awardees. Dr. Mukesh Aghi, one of the awardees and President & CEO of US-India Strategic Partnership Forum, delivered the acceptance speech on behalf of the awardees.

The list of the awardees is as follows:

S. No.NameCountryField
1NGO Cultural Diversity for Peaceful FutureArmeniaPromoting Indian Culture
2Dr. Rajani Chandra D’MelloAzerbaijanMedicine
3Mr. Baburajan Vava Kalluparambil GopalanBahrainCommunity Service
4Mrs. Jamal AhmadBotswanaBusiness
5Mr. Janakiraman RavikumarCameroonCloser ties with India
6H.E. Mr. Eugene RhuggenaathCuracao (The Netherlands)Public Service
7Mr. Debashish ChaudhuriCzech RepublicArt and Culture
8Mr. Mohammed Husein Hasanali SardharwalaEthiopiaBusiness
9Sai Prema FoundationFijiCommunity Service
10Dr. Balasubramanian RamaniGermanyEducation
11Mr. Lal Lokumal ChellaramHong KongCommunity Service
12Dr. (Prof.) Muralidhar MiryalaJapanScience & Technology
13Mr. Rajib ShawJapanEducation
14Mr. Salil PanigrahiMaldivesTourism
15Dr. Ravi Prakash SinghMexicoScience & Technology
16Hon. Ms. Priyanca RadhakrishnanNew ZealandPublic Service
17Indian Cultural Association (ICA)NigeriaCommunity Service
18Dr. Mohan Thomas Lazarus PakalomattomQatarMedicine
19Mr. Jean Regis RamsamyReunion (France)Media & Community Service
20Mr. Siddeek AhmedSaudi ArabiaBusiness
21Dr. Anil Kumar Chotalal MithaniSudanMedicine
22H.E. Mr. Chandrikapersad SantokhiSurinamePublic Service
23Dr. Shachi GurumayunSwitzerlandBio-tech Agronomy
24Mr. Vashdev Tikamdas PurswaniThailandBusiness
25Mr. Resham Singh SandhuUKPublic Service
26Mr. Arvind PhukanUSAEnvironment Technology
27Ms. Nilu GuptaUSAPromoting Indian Culture
28Federation of Indian Associations NY, NJ & CTUSACommunity Service
29Dr. Sudhakar JonnalagaddaUSAMedicine
30Dr. Mukesh AghiUSA/ SingaporeBusiness

Disclaimer: We donot claim that the images used as part of the news published are always owned by us. From time to time, we use images sourced as part of news or any related images or representations. Kindly take a look at our image usage policy on how we select the image that are used as part of the news.