Prime Minister Chairs Business Roundtable in Tokyo

May 23:Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi chaired a roundtable with Japanese business leaders on 23 May 2022 in Tokyo.

Top executives and CEOs of 34 Japanese companies participated in the event. The majority of these companies have investments and operations in India. The companies represented diverse sectors including automobiles, electronics, semiconductors, steel, technology, trading, and banking & finance. Key business bodies and organizations from India and Japan such as Keidanren, Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO), Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA), Japan Bank for International Cooperation (JBIC), Japan-India Business Consultative Committee (JIBCC) and Invest India also participated in the event.

Stressing that India and Japan are natural partners, Prime Minister lauded the business community as brand ambassadors of the immense potential of India-Japan ties. Prime Minister said that during the visit of Prime Minister Kishida to India in March 2022, both countries had set an ambitious target of investment of Japanese Yen 5 trillion over the next 5 years. Prime Minister highlighted recent developments in economic ties, such as India-Japan Industrial Competitiveness Partnership (IJICP) and Clean Energy Partnership, among others. He talked about initiatives such National Infrastructure Pipeline (NIP), Production Linked Incentive (PLI) scheme, and semiconductor policy and highlighted the robust startup ecosystem of India.

Prime Minister noted that despite the slowdown in global FDI, India has attracted a record FDI of USD 84 billion in the previous financial year. He termed this a vote of confidence in India’s economic potential. He invited greater participation by Japanese companies in India and proposed celebrating Japan’s contribution to India’s development journey in the form of a ‘Japan Week’.

The following Business Leaders participated in the Business Forum:

Mr. Seiji KuraishiChairman and DirectorHonda Motor Co., Ltd.
Mr. Makoto UchidaRepresentative Executive Officer, President & CEONissan Motor Corporation
Mr. Akio ToyodaPresident and member of the board of directorsToyota Motor Corporation
Mr. Yoshihiro HidakaPresident, CEO & Representative DirectorYamaha Motor Corporation
Mr. Toshihiro SuzukiPresident & Representative DirectorSuzuki Motor Corporation
Mr. Seiji ImaiChairman of Mizuho Financial GroupMizuho Bank Ltd.
Mr. Hiroaki FujisueAdvisor, MUFG Bank Ltd., and Chairman, JIBCCMUFG Bank Ltd. and JIBCC
Mr. Takeshi KunibeChairman of the Board of both Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group (SMFG) and Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (SMBC)Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation
Mr. Koji NagaiChairmanNomura Securities Co., Ltd.
Mr. Kazuo NishitaniSecretary GeneralJapan-India Business Co-operation Committee
Mr. Masakazu KubotaPresidentKEIDANREN
Mr. Kyohei HosonoDirector and COODream Incubator Inc.
Mr. Keiichi IwataPresident of Sumitomo Chemical Co., Ltd Vice Chairman of Japan Petrochemical Industry AssociationSumitomo Chemical Co. Ltd.
Mr. Tsugio MitsuokaChairman of the BoardIHI Corporation
Mr. Yoshinori KanehanaChairman of BoardKawasaki Heavy Industries, Ltd.
Mr. Ryuko HiraPresident & Representative DirectorHotel Management International Co. Ltd.
Mr. Hiroko OgawaCO&CEOBrooks & Co. Ltd.
Mr. Vivek MahajanSenior Executive Vice President, CTOFujitsu Ltd.
Mr. Toshiya MatsukiSenior Vice PresidentNEC Corporation
Mr. Kazushige NobutaniPresidentJETRO
Mr. Yamada JunichiExecutive Senior Vice PresidentJICA
Mr. Tadashi MaedaGovernorJBIC
Mr. Ajay SinghManaging Executive OfficerMitsui O.S.K. Lines
Mr. Toshiaki HigashiharaDirector, Representative Executive Officer, Executive Chairman & CEOHitachi Ltd.
Mr. Yoshihiro MinenoSenior Executive Officer, Member of the BoardDaikin Industries Ltd.
Mr. Yoshihisa KitanoPresident & CEOJFE Steel Corporation
Mr. Eiji HashimotoRepresentative Director and PresidentNippon Steel Corporation
Mr. Akihiro NikkakuPresident and Representative Member of the BoardToray Industries, Inc.
Mr. Motoaki UnoRepresentative Director & Senior Executive Managing OfficerMitsui & Co. Ltd.
Mr. Masayoshi FujimotoRepresentative Director, President & CEOSojitz Corporation
Mr. Toshikazu NambuExecutive Vice President, Representative DirectorSumitomo Corporation
Mr. Ichiro KashitaniPresidentToyota Tsusho Corporation
Mr. Ichiro TakaharaVice-Chairman, Member of the BoardMarubeni Corporation
Mr. Yoji TaguchiChairman and Managing Director of Mitsubishi Corporation India Private LimitedMitsubishi Corporation

Disclaimer: We donot claim that the images used as part of the news published are always owned by us. From time to time, we use images sourced as part of news or any related images or representations. Kindly take a look at our image usage policy on how we select the image that are used as part of the news.